Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Huddle’s course record earns AOW

INDIANAPOLIS -- Another exceptional road-racing weekend earned Molly Huddle USATF Athlete of the week honors after she won her 18th national title and her ninth-straight USARC victory - all while setting a course record at USATF 10 Mile Championships, hosted by the Twin Cities Marathon in Minneapolis on Sunday.
Huddle (Providence, Rhode Island) won the women’s 10 Mile crown as she made her finish in 51:44, more than 90 seconds faster than the previous best of 53:16 set by Kara Goucher in 2008.
Huddle set out a commanding early pace, earning a steady lead that only increased throughout the race. She cruised past the halfway point at 25:55, outpacing her competitors with a 5:10 pace per mile.
Other notable performances included:
  • Sam Chelanga (Tucson, Arizona) won his first national title with a time of 46:47 at the USATF 10 Mile Championships, hosted by the Twin Cities Marathon, in Minneapolis on Sunday.
  • Clint Wells (Boulder, Colorado) became the USATF Masters Marathon Champion after running 2:24:00 at the Twin Cities Marathon in Minneapolis. Wells edged out the 2014 victor by eight seconds.
  • Jenny Schultze(Clive, Iowa) won the women’s title at USATF Masters Marathon Championships with her finish of 2:45:17 at the event hosted by the Twin Cities Marathon in Minneapolis.
  • Tom Bernard(Castro Valley, California) set an M60-64 record in the 5 km, when he finishing the Syracuse Festival of Races in 17:36 to improve the previous M64-single-age best of 18:00 set by Alex Ratelle in 1989.
  • Kathy Martin(Northport, NY) ran 19:24, smashing Shirley Matson's U.S. W64 record in the 5 km of 20:35 set in 2005. Martin's performance age-grades over the 100-percentile.
Now in its 14th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.
2015 Winners: January 15, Chris Derrick; January 21, Demi Payne; January 28, Casimir Loxsom; February 4, Anselm LeBourne; February 11, Jenny Simpson; February 18, Brycen Spratling; February 25, Maksim Korolev; March 4, Shannon Rowbury; March 11, Mary Norckauer; March 18, Daloria Boone; March 25, Irene Obera; April 2, Michael Stigler; April 8, Allen Woodard; April 15, Joe Kovacs; April 22, Vashti Cunningham; April 29, Jasmin Stowers; May 6, Sanya Richards-Ross; May 13, Bernard Lagat; May 20, Christian Taylor; May 27, David Oliver; June 3, Joe Kovacs; June 10, Grant Fisher; June 17, Ben True; June 24, Candace Hill; July 1, Justin Gatlin; July 8, Evan Jager; July 15, Christian Taylor; July 22, Shannon Rowbury; July 29, Anthony Bailey; August 5, Harrison Williams; August 12, Flo Meiler; Sept. 2, Ashton Eaton; Sept. 18, Camille Herron; Sept. 24, Don Pellmann; Deena Kastor, Sept. 30.
Join the conversation by following USATF on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.
USA Track & Field is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the country’s No. 1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States. For more information on USATF, visit
We welcome your nominations!
To nominate an athlete for Athlete of the Week, please send a detailed email about their performance to

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2023 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.