Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Twelve named champions at JOXC in Albuquerque

ALBUQUERQUE -- Rain showers and 30-degree temperatures were no match for more than 2,900 young runners competing Saturday, Dec. 12 at the 2015 USATF National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships in Balloon Fiesta Park.
Race coverage will be available Saturday evening on-demand on USATF.TV. Complete results are here.

The 8 & under girls were first to take the course as Brianna Lindo won the gold medal with a 19-second margin of victory in 7:53.8. Juliana Peters took silver in 8:12.1 and Niza Laureano earned the bronze in 8:15.3.
Daniel Skandera was first among 8 & under boys as he came down the homestretch with no one in sight for a commanding 2 km finish in 7:44.1. The second place finisher was McKay Wells in 7:59.4 and third place went to Maximiliano Ramirez in 8:03.4.
In the 9-10 girls 3,000m race, Brooke Wilson led from start to finish, holding a 10-second lead through the first mile at 6:11.8 to earn her national title in 11:45.8. Savannah Ames, clocked an even faster split of 5:29.5 to cross the line in 11:53.0, Cecilia Campos moved up from fourth to third place to round out the podium at 12:04.1.
Surging from fifth to first place in the 9-10 boys 3K race was Bersisa Burdick, who finished in 11:16.4 for the gold medal by an eight-second advantage. The silver medalist Conor Campion crossed in 11:25.0 after moving up from seventh place, and taking the bronze was Caleb Hymans, who led for a portion of the race and always remained in medal contention.
Aidyn Woodall made it a three-peat, winning her third straight National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships title, this time capturing the 11-12 girls crown in 10:52 after stretching her narrow lead at the mile by 13 seconds over runner-up Grace Ping. Samantha Blair moved up from 13th to third place after the mile one to take bronze in 11:28.5.
The 11-12 boys kept the same one-two-three from start to finish as Adugna Moritz won in 10:22.5 with Rafael Sanchez in second at 10:33.6 and Erik Le Roux in third at 10:44.1. The trio ran side by side through the first mile in 5:33 before Moritz pulled away down the stretch.
Alexys Halliday opened up a big lead early and continued to widen the gap through the 13-14 girls 4 km race, winning in 14:25.5. Halliday had a 21-second lead after mile one and was 34 seconds up at the two-mile mark. Team YMCA Idaho teammate Ashley laJocies made up ground over the final 800m to take second in 14:58.7, while London Culbreath was third in 15:08.
In the 13-14 boys race, Kevin Ramos Leyva was the leader through first two miles before Samuel Toolin found an extra gear to overtake first place by 13 seconds and finish a champion in 13:17.1. Leyva crossed for silver in 13:30.6, and the bronze medal went to Luke Houser, who crept up from fifth place to finish with a piece of hardware.
Kathryn Loken held a narrow lead over Sue Morales for the first two miles of the 15-16 girls 5 km, and Loken showed her dominance with a strong kick over the last half mile to win in 19:20.3, 12.1 seconds ahead of Morales. Jasmine He placed third in 19:57.3.
After a speedy opening mile of 5:09, Devin Paredes settled in over the next mile and never relinquished his lead, winning the 15-16 boys 5 km in 17:02.2. Holding steady in second place, silver medal went to Paredes’ Cougar TC teammate Harrison Smith in 17:10.6, and Marcus Mota earned the final podium position in 17:13.9.
Justyna Wilkinson was blazing as the 17-18 women’s leader for the first two miles. However after the second split, Penny Fenn advanced from third place, to win the gold medal in 19:52.8. The silver-medal performance went to Emma Call, who improved from ninth place at the opening mile to a second place rally at the finish. Wilkinson held steady to cross in third place for the bronze in 20:06.1.
Chase Kennedy outkicked Erick Arambula and Robert Pedersen to win the final race of the day, the 17-18 men’s 5 km, in 16:52.7. Arambula led by a slim margin through the first two miles, but Kennedy was strongest over the final mile to take gold by almost eight seconds. Pedersen was the fastest man in the field over the final mile, but couldn’t quite close the gap on Kennedy. Pederson finished second in 17:00.4, with Arambula taking third in 17:11.2.

Alexi Pappas (Eugene, Oregon), champion of the 2015 AJC Peachtree Road Race and a member of the Nike Oregon Track Club was on hand throughout the weekend to serve as keynote speaker at Friday night’s opening ceremony and to award medals to champions after Saturday's races. 
8 & Under Girls
Valley United Track Club 'A'                 55
Pacific Coast ShockWaves 'A'               58
Cougar Track Club 'A'                          76
8 & Under Boys
Cougar Track Club 'A'                          78
Lightning Youth Running Club 'A'          80
Pacific Coast ShockWaves 'A'                81
9-10 Girls
Parker Panthers 'A'                              40
Border United 'A'                                 60
Cougar Track Club 'A'                           91
9-10 Boys
Parker Panthers 'A'                               37
Cougar Track Club 'A'                           76
Pacific Coast ShockWaves 'A'                122
11-12 Girls
Parker Panthers 'A'                               60
Equalizers Track Club 'A'                       88
Valley United Track Club 'A'                   99
11-12 Boys
Bowerman Track Club 'A'                     106
NORCO Elite Racing 'A'                        148
Valley United Track Club 'A'                  175
13-14 Girls
YMCA Team Idaho 'A'                           71
Los Gatos Track Club 'A'                       92
Bowerman Track Club 'A'                     105
13-14 Boys
Cascade Striders 'A'                            147
Pacific Coast ShockWaves 'A'               152
Cougar Track Club 'A'                          158
15-16 Girls
O'Brien’s Army 'A'                                46
Cougar Track Club 'A'                           73
Team Run Flagstaff 'A'                          84
15-16 Boys
Cougar Track Club 'A'                           53
So Cal Roadrunners 'A'                         90
O'Brien's Army 'A'                               102
17-18 Girls
Richmond Track & Field Club 'A'             17
Pacific Beach Runners 'A'                       42
O'Brien's Army 'A'                                 65
17-18 Boys
Richmond Track & Field Club 'A'             35
Border United 'A'                                  37
Glendale Flash 'A'                                 77

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2023 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.