Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USATF News & Notes - November 6


USATF Black Tie & Sneakers Gala airs Friday night on NBCSN

INDIANAPOLIS -- Fans can catch a 60-minute show of USATF’s Black Tie & Sneakers Gala on NBCSN Friday night, November 6. Starting at 11:30 p.m. EST, the National Track & Field Hall of Fame induction ceremony will air nationwide and feature track & field legends Michael Johnson, Joan Benoit Samuelson, Allen Johnson and Hollis Conway, as well as current stars Allyson Felix and Sanya Richards-Ross.

The ceremony honored the 2015 inductees to the Hall of Fame, including Johnson, Conway, Ralph Mann, Al Blozis, Jack Torrance and Harry Gill. The evening also recognized USATF’s first Legend Awards, given to Benoit Samuelson and Johnson, and the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, the recipient of which was longtime NBC Sports executive Peter Diamond.

A full photo gallery of the event, including photos available for purchase, can be found here.

Fan voting is now open for Jesse Owens & Jackie Joyner-Kersee Athletes of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS -- Track and field fans have the opportunity to help select USATF’s 2015 Jesse Owens and Jackie Joyner-Kersee winners through online voting.

Honoring the country’s top male and female track and field athletes, the Jesse Owens and Jackie Joyner-Kersee winners are selected by a vote of the media in combination with online fan balloting, with media votes weighing 90 percent of the vote and fan voting 10 percent.

Established in 1981, the Jesse Owens and Jackie Joyner-Kersee Awards are USATF's highest accolade, presented annually to the outstanding U.S. male and female track & field performers. This year’s awards will be presented December 5 at the Jesse Owens Awards Ceremony, held in conjunction with USATF’s 2015 Annual Meeting in Anaheim.

Seven women and seven men are nominated, below. Online voting concludes on Monday, November 16 at 11:59 p.m. EST.



Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2023 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.