Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USATF recognizes Officials Hall of Fame Inductees and Outstanding Officials Award Winners

HOUSTON, Texas -- Honored on Friday evening, Gordon Bocock, Winifred Eggers, Darlene Hickman, Thomas McTaggart and Shelby Sharpe were inducted into the USATF Officials Hall of Fame at the National Officials Committee Awards Program at the Hyatt Regency Houston in conjunction with the 2015 USATF Annual Meeting.
In addition to the 2015 induction class, six deserving individuals were honored with annual awards for their dedication to the sport of track & field and their tireless commitment to officiating.
USATF Officials Hall of Fame - 2015 Induction Class
Gordon Bocock, Kentucky Association - Became one of the country’s top officials and has been a starter, umpire and referee at every level of competition from youth to masters, and on the local, state, national, international and collegiate levels. He has been honored with the Kentucky Association’s President’s Award, NOC President’s Award for Outstanding Service and the prestigious NOC Andy Bakjian Award.
Winifred “Win” Eggers, Illinois Association - Officiated for more than 35 years, achieving Master Level Certification and specializing in weights and measures and throwing events. Eggers served as an official for the Atlanta 1996 Olympic Games and officiated four U.S. Olympic Trials events with weights and measures, shot put, discus and hammer crews. She was a head shot put official three times and has officiated more than 40 USATF Championship meets for open, youth and masters athletes.
Darlene Hickman, Pacific Northwest Association - Secretary of the USATF Board of Directors, Hickman has been officiating for 38 years and has a Master Level Certification. Hickman was one of the first women in the 1980s elected to the IAAF International Judging Panel, an appointment leading to her position as the first female Chief Judge at an IAAF Race Walk World Championship. She became a certified official in 1980 and her resume boasts two Olympic Games, nine Olympic Trials events, numerous USATF National Championships at all levels, two NCAA Championship meets and more than 30 High School Championships in the state of Washington.
Thomas “Mr. Starter” McTaggart, New York Association - McTaggart has been officiating for 45 years and has a Master Level Certification. Since the mid-1980s, McTaggart has officiated two Olympic Games (Los Angeles 1984 and Atlanta 1996), taking on roles as an umpire, lap counter and field event timer. He has been a starter, chief starter or starter coordinator at five Olympic Trials events, 25 USATF Indoor Championships, 14 USATF Outdoor Championships, five national club championships and three cross country championships. He has been the starter at five youth championships, two Masters Championships, and at least 25 international championships, including the IAAF Cross Country Championship, three World Junior Championships, eight New York City Grand Prixs, three Carifta Games, NACAC Championships in Jamaica and Puerto Rico, and the IAAF World Games.
Shelby Sharpe, Southwestern Association - Sharpe has officiated for 52 years, has a master level certification and has helped to define the role of the Marshal at track & field meets at all levels to improve the safety of events across the country. Sharpe’s resume as a Marshall includes four Olympic Trials events, 12 USATF Open Championships, several Youth and Masters Championships, 14 Big 10 and SEC Championships and 25 NCAA Division-I Championships in addition to his role as head marshall at Texas Relays for 50 years.
2015 USATF Officials Committee Outstanding Officials Awards
Lori Maynard Award, presented to an individual who best exemplifies the qualities of a truly dedicated race walk official, organizer and administrator - Dave Snyder, Southern California Association
James Grey Award, which recognizes excellence and achievement by an individual who provides the leadership, sets the example and goes out his/her way to help in the development of another officials’ association and other USATF officials organizations - Roger Burbage, North Carolina Association
John Davis Award, which honors excellence and achievement by an individual who espouses through humanitarian efforts by leadership, fellowship and developmental welfare of others through USATF and its various special needs programs - Ken Morton, Kentucky Association
Charles Ruter Award, presented for the betterment and devotion to track and field officiating in the area of running events - Laurie A. Boemker, New England Association
Horace Grow Award, honors devotion to track and field officiation in the area of field events - Eric Smith, Florida Association
Andy Bakjian Award, given annually to an official providing outstanding service throughout a carer to the running sports by taking officiation of track and field to a higher level - Michael T. Armstrong, Arkansas Association

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2023 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.