Join/Renew Now

Ultrarunners of the Year

The Ted Corbitt Memorial Award (for men), the Ruth Anderson Award (for women), and the Men's and Women's Masters Ultrarunner of the Year Awards were established to recognize the outstanding male and female ultrarunners of the year.

Year Ted Corbitt Memorial Award Ruth Anderson Award Masters Male Masters Female
2013 Jon Olsen Sabrina Litlle Joe Fejes Suzanna Bon
2012 Mike Morton Connie Gardner Roy Pirrung Connie Gardner
2011 Michael Wardian Meghan Arbogast Chad Ricklefs and Mark Godale Connie Gardner
2010 Michael Wardian Kami Semick Scott Dunlap Meghan Arbogast
2009 Michael Wardian Kami Semick Roy Pirrung Anita Ortiz
2008 Michael Wardian Susannah Beck Roy Pirrung Beverley Anderson-Abbs
2007 Greg Crowther Nikki Kimball Roy Pirrung Beverly Anderson-Abbs
2006 Karl Meltzer Nikki Kimball Dan Verrington Anne Riddle-Lundblad
2005 Dave Mackey Anne Lundblad William Emerson Tania Pacev
2004 Dave Mackey Nikki Kimball William Emerson Ann Heaslett
2003 Joe Kulak Connie Gardner John Geesler Pam Reed
2002 Chad Ricklefs Ann Heaslett Roy Pirrung Ann Trason
2001 Rich Hanna Ann Trason Rudy Afanador Sue Ellen Trapp
2000 Dan Held Janice Anderson Jim Garcia Sue Olsen
1999 Mark Godale Daniele Cherniak Eric Clifton Suzanne Brana
1998 Kevin Setnes Ann Trason Ray Piva Sue Olsen
1997 Roy Pirrung Sue Ellen Trapp Kevin Setnes Sue Ellen Trapp
1996 Kevin Setnes Sue Ellen Trapp Kevin Setnes Sue Ellen Trapp
1995 Tom Johnson Ann Trason Kevin Setnes Theresa Daus-Weber
1994 Tom Johnson Ann Trason    
1993 Kevin Setnes Sue Ellen Trapp    
1992 Eric Clifton Ann Trason    
1991 Sean Crom Ann Trason    
1990 Rae Clark Ann Trason    

About the awards

Ted Corbitt Memorial Award

The Ted Corbitt Memorial Award, which honors the Male Ultrarunner of the Year, is presented at the USATF Annual Meeting Awards Breakfast each year.

Ted Corbitt is regarded as the "Father of American Ultrarunning." A 1952 U.S. Olympian at the Marathon distance, Corbitt moved up to ultradistances shortly thereafter. He traveled many times to the London-to-Brighton 54-mile race in England, where he finished as high as second place in what was at the time the de facto world championship of the fledgling international sport of ultrarunning. Corbitt set American Records at 50 miles, 100 miles, and 24 hours, some of which stood for decades. One of his most noteworthy marks is a 5:35:03 for 50 miles (1970), which is still the U.S. 50-and-over record. He inspired a generation of American ultrarunners to take these events seriously on a national scale.

Corbitt was a founding father of the Road Runners Club of America, where he instituted road race course certification in the U.S. He was instrumental in getting the Amateur Athletics Union, the U.S. governing body of Track & Field at the time, to provide official recognition of and standards for long distance running, including ultras. Corbitt remained active in the sport, and set a series of American age-group ultra records at the age of 81. For his incomparable running achievements, Corbitt was the inducted into the USATF Masters Hall of Fame and is one of four ultrarunners in the hall. Corbitt died in 2007 at the age of 87.

Ruth Anderson Award

The Ruth Anderson Award, which honors the Male Ultrarunner of the Year, is presented at the USATF Annual Meeting Awards Breakfast each year.

Ruth Anderson pioneered women's ultrarunning in the 1970s, a time when virtually no American women practiced the sport. She established numerous American ultradistance women's records, and in doing so became an inspiration for the first generation of American ultra women, who led the world ultra rankings well into the 1980s. Anderson, born in 1929, is the namesake for the Ruth Anderson 50 km / 50 mi. / 100 km held in San Francisco each April since 1993.

She became active in the national federation's fledgling distance running committees. In 1986 she was a founding member of the first Ultrarunning Subcommittee of USA Track & Field. Anderson continues today as a USATF committee member and volunteer for long distance running in general, and ultrarunning in particular. For her pioneering accomplishments in the sport and her performances, Anderson was the inducted into the USATF Masters Hall of Fame in the initial class in 1996 and is one of four ultrarunners in the hall.


Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2022 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.